Update on our e-action – 37,000 emails sent

You have sent 37,000 emails to UK parliamentarians through our e-action, Uplands for people, for the climate and for wildlife. Thank you!

All elected parliamentarian in England (MPs), Scotland (MSPs), Wales (MSs) and Northern Ireland (MLAs) has received an email from at least one of their constituents calling for action on Uplands for people, for the climate and for wildlife.

The top-ranking English constituencies

All constituencies across England have supported our e-action, but the MPs receiving the highest number of emails are Conservative MPs, in rural constituencies, many of them with grouse moors:

High Peak, Robert Largan MP, 128 emails

Skipton and Ripon, Julian Smith MP, 119 emails

Sheffield Hallam, Olivia Blake MP, 108 emails

Derbyshire Dales, Sarah Dines MP, 107 emails

Totnes, Anthony Mangnall MP, 104 emails

Calder Valley, Craig Whittaker MP, 99 emails

Hexham, Guy Opperman MP, 99 emails

Stroud, Siobhan Baillie MP, 91 emails

Westmorland and Lonsdale, Tim Farron MP, 91 emails

Suffolk Coastal, Therese Coffey MP, 83 emails

Somerton and Frome, David Warburton MP, 83 emails

West Dorset, Chris Loder MP, 82 emails

Wealden, Nus Ghani MP, 82 emails

The Cotswolds, Geoffrey Clifton-Brown MP, 80 emails

North Devon, Selaine Saxby MP, 79 emails

Torridge and West Devon, Geoffrey Cox MP, 78 emails

St Ives, Derek Thomas MP, 78 emails

Wells, James Heappey MP, 78 emails

Arundel and South Downs, Andrew Griffith MP, 78 emails

Bexhill and Battle, Huw Merriman MP, 77 emails

The top-ranking Scottish constituencies


MSPs representing all Holyrood constituencies have been sent emails – the number received by individual MSPs in each constituency and region varies, but the five strongest-supporting constituencies all have upland areas within their boundaries:

  1. Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch

2. Perthshire North

3. East Lothian

4. Midlothian South, Tweeddale and Lauderdale

5. Inverness and Nairn

The constituencies with the least support are all in the lowland and urban central belt of Scotland: Hamilton, Larkhall and Stonehouse; Cumbernauld and Kilsyth; Glasgow Anniesland; Airdrie and Shotts; Glasgow Provan.

If you have signed the e-action and sent a message to your elected representative(s) – thank you! Now please ask your friends to do the same. This e-action closes on 28 October.

If you haven’t yet participated then please have a look at https://wildjustice.eaction.org.uk/saveourskydancers2021/ and see whether you can take part. Many thanks!